PDA

View Full Version : Getting a texture to follow a curve or arc


folkrm
4th Feb 2011, 11:10 PM
I am working on texturing my Castle mesh, and have run into a bit of a problem.
I can't seem to get the texture to follow the arch correctly, as seen in the attached render.
I am hoping for some help from someone who has been through this before, or know of a better way than adding a texture in the color and bump channels to produce the same effect.

Thank you in advance.

Folkrm

BillS
5th Feb 2011, 06:20 AM
hmm.. well the "easiest" way would be to UV map one set of them cylindrically and then clone them down the length of the hall. That way they take the UV maps with them. You might be able to just use a cylindrical projection on them now but it would mean breaking them up into different surfaces.. ie Supports_x, Supports_z so you can change the mapping axis.

BillS
5th Feb 2011, 06:23 AM
Actually.. you may still be able to do option A. In other packages that I use I've done it but I've never tried with LW. You still might be able to UV one set and then copy and past the UV's onto the others. They would have to be exactly the same geometry wise. Again, never tried it in LW but it might be worth looking into.

folkrm
8th Feb 2011, 05:07 PM
I tried applying a UV map, cylindrically, to the mesh, but came up with the same results as applying an image texture.

I have included my settings, as well as a pic of what I am shooting for, maybe someone with more experience than me can see my mistakes.

Thank you in advance.

Folkrm

BillS
8th Feb 2011, 07:21 PM
Ok.. part of the problem is that you're projecting the cylinder down the Y axis when it looks like you should be going down the Z axis. That is why its tearing your UV's apart at the top in the first image. To use the image map that you have you will need to basically leave where it hits the top of the pillar and straighten out the arch so its straight up the Y axis.

Question for you.. Where they meet at the top of the pillar. is that one solid mesh or do the separate parts just meet there? Judging by the third image I'm guessing that they are all separate. If so then there might be a pretty painless way to do this but it will depend on the answer to that.

folkrm
8th Feb 2011, 07:55 PM
The seperate parts meet in the middle. I'm not too worried about that part, because it will rarely be seen or rendered, but If I cant get the arch looking decent, then the main renders will look like crap.

Thanks BillS for you help.

Folkrm

BillS
8th Feb 2011, 08:23 PM
Push comes to shove I can UV it for you if you don't mind sending me the trim parts of the castle. With UVLayout it only took a couple minutes to do this. Its not exactly like yours, Just something like it that I knocked up in LWCAD and exported as an obj to do the UV work

http://www.foundation3d.com/uploads/general/2011/02/8-08-221730_tn.jpg (http://www.foundation3d.com/uploads/general/2011/02/8-08-221730.jpg)

It might be easier to see how it maps on this one.

http://www.foundation3d.com/uploads/general/2011/02/8-08-221771_tn.jpg (http://www.foundation3d.com/uploads/general/2011/02/8-08-221771.jpg)

folkrm
8th Feb 2011, 09:00 PM
BillS;

Excellent job, that is exactly wha I am trying to do.
I don't mind sending the meshes, but if you could possibly detail the steps you used to get those results, so I can play around and learn some things, I would greatly appreciate it.

Let me know wher to send files.

Thanks again


Folkrm

folkrm
8th Feb 2011, 09:35 PM
BillS;

I do have an older copy of UVMapper Classic 2.0. I am going to study up on this application and see if it will do the job.

Folkrm

BillS
9th Feb 2011, 03:59 AM
Actually UVLayout has a demo. It only has the basic tools but that is about all I used to do mine. Take a look at it here.

http://www.uvlayout.com/index.php?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=72

Be sure and check out the videos on its use.

Meurig
9th Feb 2011, 05:06 AM
You're expecting the projection to work perfectly - that's never going to happen, anything you UV project will need manual tweaking and further unwrapping afterwards.

folkrm
9th Feb 2011, 06:49 AM
Meurig;

No, I'm not expecting anything from Lightwaves "built-in" tools to work perfectly! I expected to have to manually tweak them, but after 3.5 frustrating hours of "manual tweaking", I was no better off than when I started.

I am realativly new to texturing,and especially UVs, so I am trying to learn all I can, while trying to improve the look of my model. It's just that Lightwave's built-in tools don't seem to be adequate, so I am inquiring to you more experienced modelers as to what and how you might handle this.

Thanks

Folkrm

lonewriter
23rd Jul 2011, 04:26 PM
Actually UVLayout has a demo. It only has the basic tools but that is about all I used to do mine. Take a look at it here.

http://www.uvlayout.com/index.php?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=72

Be sure and check out the videos on its use.
I think that is what I need when I go to texture my nova mesh, thanks.

BillS
23rd Jul 2011, 06:27 PM
No problem.. some of the best $$ I ever spent.