PDA

View Full Version : Extinct

mJAstro
7th Mar 2008, 04:39 PM
So, this is one of my first scenes done with vue and I decided to go for more of an "artsy" view than photoreal. I'm fairly new to the whole nature "scene" so let the critiques fly! Oh, and I hope some people like it.

BillS
7th Mar 2008, 06:11 PM
Its got an interesting feel to it. Personally, I'm not a fan of the flare and ring. About the only real nit pick that I have with it is that in the mid ground its very noisy. That could be because its a proof though.

mJAstro
7th Mar 2008, 06:24 PM
Ya know, that mid ground noise is something that has baffled me. I am confused to say the least when it comes to the mechanics of it and just cannot figure out how to remedy it. Ive been doing some reading but its hard to narrow it done when its such a new program for me. I have a feeling its something really simple to fix and I am just missing it.

As for the flare (I'm assuming you mean the flares right at the sun itself), I am trying to work it out so its not as big/intense, but its really hard (at least being new to vue) because its just the way the sun/clouds/interact with the spectral atmosphere (which is required for the rays). Maybe if I put bigger gaps in between the clouds it wont flare as much. Ill try that later on and see if it fixes it.

Initium Thoth
7th Mar 2008, 06:25 PM
I can recognize beauty in the scene, but it seems way to grainy even for a painted style.

I dont have Vue and I dont know what options are available. But, can you render with higher resolution and anti aliasing? And perhaps render the lense flare on its own so that it can be layered in photoshp.

mJAstro
7th Mar 2008, 06:28 PM
I could always take the lens into combustion and do it there (I prefer combustion over photoshop for that). If I remember correctly anti aliasing was turned on for the render.

I also utterly forgot to add credits to myself so I will be editing it shortly for that.

lonewriter
7th Mar 2008, 10:16 PM