Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Discussions & Support > The Cafe
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

The Cafe IMP, LLC, owners of this site, is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules and use good internet etiquette (link). Discuss topics of your choice in the Cafe only, with the exception of sex or topics deemed inappropriate for family consumption. Discussions of politics and religion are discouraged due to their volatile nature; however, each thread will be judged individually for content (religion and politics) and will not be shut down immediately. Staff retains the right to close or delete any post which they deem inappropriate. Threads or posts that advocate violence or hate, advance spam, or violate our TOS will be deleted or closed.

Reply
 
Submit Tools Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th Jan 2010, 01:43 PM   #1
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default Windows 7 Compatibility with Lightwave

Hi all

for the last few weeks my new PC has been crashing from time to time... and i i have been looking over the new for help........ I tried a "Driver verifier" and open lightwave and bang the PC crashed ---


has anyone else experienced problems with windows7 ..

I could be in error
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2010, 03:02 PM   #2
Treybor
Asylum Inmate
 
Treybor's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser ZBrush Photoshop Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 4,995
Default

Nope. My new Win7 Desktop works beautyiful with LW. I installed 32 and 64 bit on 64 bit windows. That way i still have access to all my old plugins.
__________________
Check it out!!! Foundation3D VFX Pipeline Challenge!!!!!
http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=16975

That Serenity Tutorial Guy.....
http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/s...ead.php?t=1281

SubPatch Modeling Tutorial (Nudity Warning)
http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/s...ead.php?t=3445
Treybor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2010, 03:38 PM   #3
wave of light
Registered Member
 
wave of light's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Vue Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wath-upon-dearne, S Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 992
Default

Sorry. Same here, everything's working fine in Win 7 with Lightwave
__________________
My website: rsl designs | Finish work: Aircraft - Après Moi Le Déluge
wave of light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2010, 03:51 PM   #4
Jedi2016
Registered Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,277
Default

Win 7 here, no problems.
Jedi2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2010, 04:44 PM   #5
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

hmm

I am at a loss . I have e-mailed newtek ..

I upload with the latest sentinel drivers ..

perhaps that will help
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 07:24 AM   #6
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

well I tried reloading at the 64 bit level and the when I open it windows crashes to blue screen and need to restart ..

I normally using it at the 32 bit for the free modeling plugins etc ..

I updated the sentinal for the dongle etc .....

I use Nvidia GTS 250

ASUS Mother board P5QL PRO,

8 GB ram

1 TB memory


only lightwave look to be not working for me ..
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 07:38 AM   #7
Kataar
Contributing Member
 
Kataar's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce LightWave Paint Shop Pro Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 672
Default

what version of lightwave do you use? older versions can and do have issues with Win7 (oddly enough, LightWave 7 is one of them ) But the latest version of LightWave appears to work. I'll find that out soon enough for myself
__________________
"Dreams Begin Responsibilities"
"What we do in life...echoes in eternity!"
Kataar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 07:47 AM   #8
infinityloop
Contributing Member
 
infinityloop's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max LightWave Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 305
Default

LW 9.6 (32and64bit) runs perfeclty here on my Win7 64bit prof installation as well.

Do you use any 3rd party plugins which might cause the crash?
__________________
current wip: FN SCAR-H
all my finished models from the :: lwg-3d era ::
finished wallpaper: Mass Effect 2 - Brief Moment of Beauty
infinityloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 07:49 AM   #9
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

I use a few .. jettobevel 2 and a few others .. Thickner ... untriple i think
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 08:14 AM   #10
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

SORRY it was lightwave 9.6
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 10:02 AM   #11
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

I downloaded the Windows upgrade compatibility test and the Safenet USB Superpro/ultrapro shows as not compatible with Windows 7 ........

any ideas
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 10:10 AM   #12
tan.j
Contributing Member
 
tan.j's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 257
Default

I had a few troubles when I installed LW9.6(64bit) to Windows7 Prof.(64bit, Japanese) system.

They might be caused by malfunction of an installer of the sentinel driver, old video drivers and settings of a 3rd party firewall. LW was quite unstable and slow, the system sometimes got impossible to access USB devices (HDs, a sound device, a tablet...) after their installation. Device manager showed that USB 2.0 functions on some USB controllers were disabled.

I uninstalled the sentinel driver, then re-installed USB controller drivers and the sentinel driver after taking off all USB devices except a keyboard, a mouse and a dongle. Video driver update and a firewall reconfiguration for LW Hub improved stability and performance of LW dramatically.

Now all USB devices work w/o any troubles and LW runs perfectly. My system is Intel X38 Express/ICH9R chipset base.
tan.j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 10:17 AM   #13
Ideas Unlimited
Registered Member
 
Ideas Unlimited's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 473
Default

The only time I've ever had that problem is with a geforce card, I started LW and crash over and over, I found that the problem was the settings in the options panel in the NVidia Control Panel it was corrected by reducing the AA setting... hope this helps. If you think it's the sentinel driver remove your dongle and see if LW will start in discovery mode
__________________
My Site: -
--------------------------------------------------
www.3dQualityModels.com
--------------------------------------------------
Now with Free Models
Free Tutorials:
Free Wallpapers In Various Sizes .. Enjoy
Ideas Unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 10:28 AM   #14
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

thanks ..

I have reloaded lightwave with 32 bit settings .. and it works so far .. but i think I will end up having another crash ...... I will be going back to the store where I bought it and see if they can check out this for me ... better then my guessing all the time
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 04:21 PM   #15
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender Bryce LightWave Poser Terragen TrueSpace Vue ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,217
Default

it sounds like something else is causing it not light wave..

Lightwave has never crashed my system, its allways been some device that did it..

if u get BSD its a video card or ram or some other device causing it rarely a program will cause a BSD

did u get a BSD ??

u using the USB dongle, that could be causing the crash
try plugging it in after the computer is up and running..
then unplug it and see if the puter reconizes it as it is plugged in and removed...
some times the USB port u plug it into might be also defective some how try another USB port or 2
__________________

"Remember The Vets who fought for our Freedom" ...
Intel I7 980 OC'D to 5.1 GHZ, Water Cooled, Gigabyte MB
32 gig ram, 5 HD's, GTX 560 Ti (x 2)
LightWave 11.5, 32 and 64 bit
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2010, 05:14 PM   #16
Redcow
Registered Member
 Gallery
Blender Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Default

I thought W7 was backwards compatible? I don't have lightwave but I can use everything else.
Redcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2010, 02:53 AM   #17
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D_CG View Post
it sounds like something else is causing it not light wave..

Lightwave has never crashed my system, its allways been some device that did it..

if u get BSD its a video card or ram or some other device causing it rarely a program will cause a BSD

did u get a BSD ??

u using the USB dongle, that could be causing the crash
try plugging it in after the computer is up and running..
then unplug it and see if the puter reconizes it as it is plugged in and removed...
some times the USB port u plug it into might be also defective some how try another USB port or 2
BSD Blue Screen of Death ?? yes a number of times since I got this pc .......
I tried a Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor and ran a scan and thing only thing that
shows not compatible is Safenet .. don´t know if that the problem

I have moved it to a new USB port and have LW running to see if it goes again

anyway I have download modo to see how that works if worst comes to worse untilll I can have the problem resolved ....

I have sent some HD data memory dumps and such to a web forum for windows7 ..

lightwave is most likely just a victim of another issue as you say ..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	safenet.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	253.1 KB
ID:	35126  
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2010, 03:33 AM   #18
infinityloop
Contributing Member
 
infinityloop's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max LightWave Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 305
Default

For every BSOD, Windows 7 creates a minidump file.
These files can be reviewed by ::this:: free application, which might help to pinpoint the cause.

Usually BSOD's are triggered on a driver/kernel level. So it could even be the Dongledriver, but that would be the first time i heard such.

What does Newtek support say about this BSOD issue?
__________________
current wip: FN SCAR-H
all my finished models from the :: lwg-3d era ::
finished wallpaper: Mass Effect 2 - Brief Moment of Beauty
infinityloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2010, 04:29 AM   #19
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

No response to my e-mail yet .. thanks for the link .. I saved the minidump files but was wondering how to look at them my self
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2010, 04:42 AM   #20
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

I tried this and Sentinal64 came up along with ntoskrnl.exe

Sentinal64 is as far as I know to do with safenet and lightwave ??
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2010, 11:12 AM   #21
BillS
Administrator
 
BillS's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Illustrator Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10,648
Default

If you bought this computer, one of the first things that I would do is wander around the BIOS. They may have it overclocked, Memory timing could be off etc. If you're not comfortable with it.....don't. There is loads in there than can be tweeked and make or break a computer.

Do any other high resource programs crash it? Like photoshop etc? It might be something as simple as a bad stick of ram.
__________________
Bill. aka LemmingDude. aka Ethangar, Ethanger, Ethengar, Ethenger, Ethan, Eth, ehenger, etharger, Ethel, Ehtangar, Ethanfar, hanger, Eclangers, Ethand, ethang, hangar, Ethanol, Ethangix, Ethangod, Eggnog, Ethanprop........
Lemming World
BillS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2010, 11:37 AM   #22
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

Photoshop runs ok ... as far as I can tell this crashes started on the 13th of December last..... there is no futher dates from that point listed in the Event Viewer

there was 2 updates from microsoft and I have no ideas about the install dates of other programs I added ????

that could perhaps cause a crash ..

as for the BIOS , I have no idea how to do that . is there a way I can check ??

I can then bring it back to the store where I bought it and get then to check it out .
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2010, 04:00 PM   #23
Neophite
Registered Member
 
Neophite's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender Bryce LightWave Poser Premiere
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 333
Default

I Beta tested 7 and ran LW 9.6 just fine.......but on my main computer I have yet to install 7 as I need to put 7 Ultimate on it......which version are you usin'.... Professional or Premium might give you an issue....but seems like it is a resource issue..........
__________________
A bunch of us boys was whoopin' it up at the Malemute Saloon....
Neophite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2010, 05:15 PM   #24
BillS
Administrator
 
BillS's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Illustrator Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10,648
Default

If you don't know how to get into the BIOS then you'd be best to leave it alone. Like I said there are loads of settings in there and it could be any one or combination of many. Ram Caching and shadow ram can be notorious for blue screens depending on the hardware setup.
__________________
Bill. aka LemmingDude. aka Ethangar, Ethanger, Ethengar, Ethenger, Ethan, Eth, ehenger, etharger, Ethel, Ehtangar, Ethanfar, hanger, Eclangers, Ethand, ethang, hangar, Ethanol, Ethangix, Ethangod, Eggnog, Ethanprop........
Lemming World
BillS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2010, 05:24 PM   #25
Nail
Registered Member
 
Nail's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce LightWave Maya Modo Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 413
Default

The BSOD can be caused by number of things like a device driver or hardware failure.
Such as bad RAM or wrong ram timings, faulty Video card and so on.
I'm not sure how much experience you have with computers, but I would start with the following.


1. Make sure your video card drivers are up to date. Not sure what you have
NVIDIA or AMD (ATI).
2. Run memtest86+ and test you ram for problems. Go to http://www.memtest.org/ and grab the http://www.memtest.org/download/4.00...+-4.00.iso.zip
Unzip the .iso file and Bern it to a cd.
Once completed leave the CD in the drive and reboot the system.
Make sure that your computer is configured to boot from DVD/CD drive ( most of them are)
When system boots for the cd the screen should look like this http://www.memtest.org/pics/i875-big.gif
run the test for a good half an our or so this should fully test your ram for errors. If any are found your screen will look something like so http://billy-oneal.com/forums/memTest/memtestFail.png at this point you have two choices
Contact your computer manufacture for a RAM replacement.
Most of the ram on the market have lifetime warranty....or



EDIT...Sorry I did not see Bills post. Yes he is 100% correct if you don't know how to tweak your BIOS then best to leave it along..
better yet take your computer to a professional for proper diagnosis.......
Nail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2010, 11:24 AM   #27
Rob
Premiere Member
 
Rob's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Mudbox Poser Terragen Illustrator Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,041
Default

Not meaning to argue a point here, but the onboard card vs one in the pci-e isn't the cause of this unless he's messed something up. The desktop here runs Windows 7 Ultimate and has both a 7050 and a 9600 in it (7050 on the board) nvidia card.

As pointed out BSOD's are driver, power or memory/hardware related issues typically, first off go to www.nvidia.com and MANUALLY find your driver, the Auto Driver thing tends to f up. It was only finding Beta drivers for most of our stuff and given 99% of the machines here are using Nvidia based technology in one way or another that can be deadly.

Second, if once you have the latest STABLE driver from Nvidia installed you keep doing it start checking your ram. Do this by starting with 1 chip and checking stability then adding one etc etc. Some boards and Computers end up with issues. If it happens then you may have a dud chip that is causing memory not to be read properly (given you listed the sentinal driver it's quite possible).

Also check your power Supply, modern computers generally need at least 500watt PC power supplies simply to power the Graphics and mother board at their true voltages.. Higher end cards will need more power, if they are not getting enough then they can cause a string of instability issues across the board.

Finally, if you want to go this route, Do a clean install, install virus protection then install Lightwave and nothing else. SEE if that causes a problem if it doesn't, then start adding programs until the problem happens once more.

Reason I am saying this is that I have 2 machines both running windows 7 64 bit and both running 32 and 64 bit Lightwave 9.6 with out any instability issues.
__________________
- Rob
NDA's suck.. they take away your ability to go 'look shinnies'.. on the other hand they mean your working on intresting projects.
Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2010, 12:49 PM   #28
Nail
Registered Member
 
Nail's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce LightWave Maya Modo Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 413
Default

Sorry, I'm an idiot did not see your early post that you have Nvidia GTS 250 (sorry about that)
Nail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2010, 06:11 AM   #29
Taranis
Contributing Member
 
Taranis's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,435
Default

Thanks for all the replies ....
I sent the PC back last week so the guys could have a look at it........ I just got the PC back today and hope to have a clear run now ...

the guy we where dealing with originally said the Ram was fine and the nvidia was ok etc

There was a new guy today and he said they changed the processor ??? but also said they found some virus ..... which is strange as I scan daily and every file I download I scan.. of course the virus scan is only as good as the Virus scanner.

but as of now I am back ..

Hide the drink
__________________
Primary Program:
Lightwave 9.6


USS Enterprise NCC-1701 Lightwave Tutorial


My Blog
Taranis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 05:45 AM   #30
Woody
Administrator
 
Woody's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Mudbox ZBrush Illustrator Corel Draw Corel Paint Photoshop Boujou After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Foundation 3D
Posts: 2,835
Default

You mentioned the SafeNet / Sentinel drivers were flagged several times,
did you ever update them? I would start there perhaps. Best of luck with
it - now that you've got it back from the repair shop!
__________________
Charles Woods
Foundation3D Administrator
Highly motivated, truly dedicated
Woody is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Discussions & Support > The Cafe
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 AM.


©2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D