Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Techniques, Instruction > 3D
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

3D Tutorials and your questions on your particular 3D application. Or post questions for general 3D help.

Reply
 
Submit Tools Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th Mar 2012, 08:27 AM   #1
lexington1709
Contributing Member
 
lexington1709's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 174
Default Composting in Photoshop CS4

I usually do everything in lightwave but since some wonderful backgrounds came out, I'd like to use them instead. However, I've not gotten down how I can composite what I rendered in LW onto the background in Photoshop. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Much obliged.
__________________
"If you're going to trust a government, why not trust the US Government?"

--Tom Hanks, The Simpsons Movie (2007)
lexington1709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Mar 2012, 08:46 AM   #2
Jedi2016
Registered Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,301
Default

The easiest way to do it is to export your rendered object as a 32-bit image with embedded alpha (RGBA, something like TIFF32). That way, the transparency of the background is part of the render and you just drop it in like any other layer.

Of course, there's a lot of subtle tricks to compositing, but there's tons of tutorials on the 'net about it. I keep saying I'll write a compositing tutorial some day (for After Effects, but most of the same principles apply to Photoshop), but I never seem to get around to it.
__________________
On the Soap Box - My online ranting spot
Jedi2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Feb 2014, 03:24 AM   #3
Carolbunn
Registered Member
 
Carolbunn's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default

Yes In Photoshop mostly the items that are been used are considered as an object. So, these objects are in an image form and then used when required. So, if you want to use that background first make it as a image form and then use it.
Carolbunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Feb 2014, 07:21 AM   #4
JackN
Moderator
 
JackN's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Illustrator Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 3,396
Default

Uh...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IS_121220_cv8lv_singe_sn635.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	40.5 KB
ID:	71017  
__________________
Lightwave 8.3
PsychoBabyl.com
My Deviant Page
JackN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Feb 2014, 07:34 AM   #5
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 999
Default

I am not a lightwave user. But I don't think there is a big difference.

I usually render my scenes without a visible background (Nebula).
Basically like Jedi said. Render it with an Alphamap (use settings where you don't get odd edges on the objects. I use straight Alpha in C4D and a black background. And I am saving it as a png 16bit with alpha.

You should get then something like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Streib1.png
Views:	23
Size:	543.9 KB
ID:	71018  
__________________
Portfolio http://amras-arfeiniel.daportfolio.com/
My B5 models: googledocs
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Techniques, Instruction > 3D
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 AM.


2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D