Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Techniques, Instruction > 3D
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

3D Tutorials and your questions on your particular 3D application. Or post questions for general 3D help.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th May 2012, 10:58 AM   #1
iczer
Registered Member
 
iczer's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce Maya Poser Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 523
Default General/Other - How do I import a .mesh into Blender or Maya 2008 on a Mac

Greetings Programs,

First off, I really don't know how to use Blender; I have 2.46, 2.49, and 2.62. In the 3D WIP section there is the Mass Effect 3 extraction thread. In it, there is a link for a site with some game models, etc. I found/heard of a python script to import these models (.mesh) into Blender.

I can't seem to get it to work. Does anyone know how to install that script on a mac? Or know of a way to import straight into Mays 2008? Thanks in advance.
iczer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2012, 12:17 PM   #2
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

me doing same thing?? as u??

__________________

"Remember The Vets who fought for our Freedom" ...
Intel I7 980 OC'D to 5.1 GHZ, Water Cooled, Gigabyte MB
132 gig ram, 5 HD's, TITAN Z Black , GTX 1080,
LightWave 11.6.3, 32 and 64 bit

http://boincstats.com/signature/-1/user/355618/sig.png
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2012, 04:51 PM   #3
iczer
Registered Member
 
iczer's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce Maya Poser Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D_CG View Post
me doing same thing?? as u??
Captain, a most fascinating event took place <activates tricorder> The Universal Translator malfunctioned.


In the thread for the Mass Effect 2 models over in the 3D WIP section, thomas39120 mentioned http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=151335 website. People have extracted models from various games in a .mesh or a .mesh.ascii format. The problem for me, is that they used a program called XNLara to extract the models. And some mentioned using Blender to export them as .obj to be used in Maya 2008. I can't seem to get this process to work; and to make it doubly problematic is that I'm on a Mac. So the XNLara and such won't work on a Mac.

So I was wondering if the Mac users on the board knows of a way to make the above work on the Mac.
iczer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2012, 06:34 PM   #4
BillS
Administrator
 
BillS's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Illustrator Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10,856
Default

I couldn't even figure out where to download XNLara, off any sites. I did find a python script that was supposed to be able to import .mesh into blender but I put it in a few spots and for the life of me couldn't get it to work either.... And I'm on a PC so it shouldn't be that hard.
__________________
Bill. aka LemmingDude. aka Ethangar, Ethanger, Ethengar, Ethenger, Ethan, Eth, ehenger, etharger, Ethel, Ehtangar, Ethanfar, hanger, Eclangers, Ethand, ethang, hangar, Ethanol, Ethangix, Ethangod, Eggnog, Ethanprop........
Lemming World
BillS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2012, 07:20 PM   #5
iczer
Registered Member
 
iczer's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce Maya Poser Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 523
Default

http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=147100


Ask and ye shall receive. ;D
iczer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 07:56 PM   #6
safetyman
Registered Member
 Gallery
Bryce LightWave Illustrator Corel Draw Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Default

As far as I know, you have to use an older version of Blender to get the .mesh script (Ogre format?) to work. Not sure which version to use, maybe v2.49. But I have successfully exported .mesh.ascii from XNALara and imported into the newest version of Blender with no problem. Some of the models come in a .mesh.ascii format already, so usually XNA isn't even needed.. I'm using a PC so I have no clue how all this would work on a Mac.

Try this link for the Ogre Tools: http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/BlenderImport

Edit: Found more info here: http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=66545
safetyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 09:30 PM   #7
iczer
Registered Member
 
iczer's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce Maya Poser Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 523
Default

I have Blender 2.49, 2.52, and 2.62. i have the ogre script.. but for some reason it doenst work.... i get a error.
iczer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 11:42 AM   #8
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

the script


import_xnalaura_mesh_ascii_extended.zip


<<<<<<... Need to add this to the Resources Area... >>>>>



for blender 2.62
__________________

"Remember The Vets who fought for our Freedom" ...
Intel I7 980 OC'D to 5.1 GHZ, Water Cooled, Gigabyte MB
132 gig ram, 5 HD's, TITAN Z Black , GTX 1080,
LightWave 11.6.3, 32 and 64 bit

http://boincstats.com/signature/-1/user/355618/sig.png
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 08:48 PM   #9
iczer
Registered Member
 
iczer's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce Maya Poser Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D_CG View Post
the script


Attachment 57796


<<<<<<... Need to add this to the Resources Area... >>>>>



for blender 2.62
For those Mac users, the above script works on the Mac.


Rendered in Maya 2008.
iczer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2012, 08:59 AM   #10
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

awesome dude.....


Cool... it workies ... yahoooo weee

__________________

"Remember The Vets who fought for our Freedom" ...
Intel I7 980 OC'D to 5.1 GHZ, Water Cooled, Gigabyte MB
132 gig ram, 5 HD's, TITAN Z Black , GTX 1080,
LightWave 11.6.3, 32 and 64 bit

http://boincstats.com/signature/-1/user/355618/sig.png
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Dec 2016, 11:34 AM   #11
ChrisGFX
Registered Member
 
ChrisGFX's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pulheim / Germany
Posts: 272
Default

hi there,

sorry for necroposting ... but I have a question please

I have some .mesh ( .chunk ) files from SWBF and I would like to convert them to OBJ or FBX. I haven't found anything yet how to make that ...

any help would be great

TIA!

Chris
__________________
If you canít explain it to a six year old, you donít understand it yourself.
ChrisGFX is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Techniques, Instruction > 3D
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 PM.


©2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D