Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Creative Works > Showcase
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Showcase All finalized work, 2D, 3D, and animations

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31st Jul 2017, 08:19 AM   #31
John Marchant
Registered Member
 
John Marchant's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Terragen Vue Photoshop Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Almeria, Spain
Posts: 2,145
Default

Very generous of you Andy.
John Marchant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2017, 09:46 AM   #32
trekki
Contributing Member
 
trekki's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 489
Default

the station in c4d, first test.
I have not installed all the lights yet
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Crook_Babylon_5.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	1.47 MB
ID:	84313  
trekki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2017, 02:16 PM   #33
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

Not a bad start. The surfacing will be a big job to complete I guess.
__________________
Facebook - Andy Crook
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 03:19 AM   #34
shaggy
Registered Member
 
shaggy's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender Bryce LightWave Poser Terragen Vue
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 685
Default

crook...
Loaded up the model last night... Beautiful!!!!!

Just wondering what all the nodes are that it is asking for on loading?

Is it just the D P node kit (not installed on my rig ATM) or are there any others...

And could you give me an idea as to what they do??

I would like to be able to render it the way you intended...

Stirling work, many thankx

__________________
I am the right hand of vengence... God sent me...
shaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 05:45 AM   #35
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

There aren't many nodal surfaces on it, certainly nothing not out of the box for LW11. Not sure what it's asking you for.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 06:16 AM   #36
shaggy
Registered Member
 
shaggy's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender Bryce LightWave Poser Terragen Vue
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crook View Post
There aren't many nodal surfaces on it, certainly nothing not out of the box for LW11. Not sure what it's asking you for.
Will have a closer look tonight....

it seems to ask for about 6 all with a DP prefix....

Seems to load fine without them tho.....
shaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 07:01 AM   #37
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

Ahh yeah could be. It's been so long since LW9 I don't know whats native and whats freeware. Scalar bump maybe?
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 07:11 AM   #38
starship
Contributing Member
 
starship's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brasil
Posts: 1,200
Default

Thank you Crook!
It's too much generosity from you sharing this awesome mesh!
starship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 07:30 AM   #39
shaggy
Registered Member
 
shaggy's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender Bryce LightWave Poser Terragen Vue
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crook View Post
Ahh yeah could be. It's been so long since LW9 I don't know whats native and whats freeware. Scalar bump maybe?
yeah it's weird... I'm running 11.6...

as I said, I'll take a closer look when I get home... Ta
shaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 09:52 AM   #40
shaggy
Registered Member
 
shaggy's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender Bryce LightWave Poser Terragen Vue
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 685
Default

Just to let you know...

Installed DP node kit (properly!)

All loads great, no calls for additional nodes...

must have them installed on your kit...
shaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 01:21 PM   #41
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

Must do. I just copy the plugins and scan for every new windows install, which are frequent
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 03:30 PM   #42
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trekki View Post
the station in c4d, first test.
I have not installed all the lights yet
I guess you already worked on the texture? Because mine looks like this the first time loading.


Not sure that I can spend time on fixing it. Would love to use it for some pictures.



Thanks Crook!

Is there a chance for an fbx file by the way?
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2017, 05:20 PM   #43
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

What did you do to my station?

And what's an FBX?
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Aug 2017, 01:50 AM   #44
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crook View Post
What did you do to my station?

And what's an FBX?
I imported it into Cinema4D.

*.fbx it the best file format to trade models between different 3D programs. At least in my experience.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FBX
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Aug 2017, 05:27 AM   #45
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

If it helps, here's an FBX

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8oqdyyymph...lon_5.fbx?dl=0

I've always thought conversion was a pain in the neck. This one might prove difficult. There are a lot of surfaces that are cubic projection, and especially cylindrical/ spherical.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Aug 2017, 11:04 AM   #46
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crook View Post
If it helps, here's an FBX

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8oqdyyymph...lon_5.fbx?dl=0

I've always thought conversion was a pain in the neck. This one might prove difficult. There are a lot of surfaces that are cubic projection, and especially cylindrical/ spherical.
Thanks! But it doesn't seem to help.
I guess if there is no uvmapping it always gets messy. At least cubic cylindrical and spherical projection is applied very quick. I might try to fix it anyway.
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Aug 2017, 01:14 PM   #47
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

Cubic you need the scale and cylindrical you need to know how many times it repeats, and these are different for both based on the surface.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2017, 09:15 AM   #48
trekki
Contributing Member
 
trekki's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 489
Default

Amras
I can send you the C4D object if you want and Crook does not mind.
trekki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2017, 11:25 AM   #49
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

Not a problem.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2017, 12:26 PM   #50
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trekki View Post
Amras
I can send you the C4D object if you want and Crook does not mind.
Thank you, but that isn't necessary.
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2017, 02:28 PM   #51
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

Any conversion is going to take some work, but this one will be a major pain because it's not just a matter of cylindrical mapping, it's the scale on the z axis and repetitions per surface, along with multiple textures applied at once. If anyone makes it look as intended in C4D (or anything other than LW) I'll be amazed.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2017, 07:58 AM   #52
tension69
Registered Member
 
tension69's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen Photoshop
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nr Swindon Uk
Posts: 558
Default

Thought I'd take a look at this today as I currently have no project:-



My thoughts, exceptional model but it has its downside. The above render weighed in at 12min 34secs (no GI) whereas RedTed's took about 1min 30secs at the same settings with hundreds of instanced Whitestars. I put this down to the model having 1 million more polys than Ted's, and very likely better texture image quality (though I haven't checked specifically). These are just my thoughts to help guide/prepare anyone who wishes to animate Babylon 5, and not a 'who's is the better model' review !

This'll be my 'goto' model for stills, but RedTed's is the better version for animating with.

Cheers Crook !
__________________
SpacialKatana on YouTube
Lightwave2015.3 * i7-4770*Win7 64Bit * 2TB HDD * 16GB DDR3 * Asus GTX780 Ti OC
tension69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2017, 09:11 AM   #53
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

An interesting experiment would be to scale down all the textures by 50% and check render times. There aren't a lot of images so isn't so much of a hassle.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2017, 05:19 AM   #54
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,541
Default

Getting there, very slowly. Have to fix the squares and a few of the grey scales of the surfaces.
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2017, 09:07 AM   #55
tension69
Registered Member
 
tension69's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen Photoshop
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nr Swindon Uk
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crook View Post
An interesting experiment would be to scale down all the textures by 50% and check render times. There aren't a lot of images so isn't so much of a hassle.
Had another look at the scene, and I think the main culprit was the main light being spherical, swapped it out for a distant light and the render time halved
tension69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2017, 01:31 PM   #56
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

I like spherical for the soft shadows.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2017, 01:38 PM   #57
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amras View Post
Getting there, very slowly. Have to fix the squares and a few of the grey scales of the surfaces.

I'm sure you'll do it justice in the end. Lots of surfacing to get through.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2017, 03:45 PM   #58
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crook View Post
ILots of surfacing to get through.
I can tell you that.

But I think I am getting there. Already like it very much. But I have still a lot to fix.


Would it be ok if I add stuff or remove some things mesh wise? Just little stuff. Or at least reduce some subdivision. Because I am having a hard time in my editor view.

... And I just realized that the elevators are going right through the cobra bay arms... o0. I wonder why that happened at the import.
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2017, 04:07 PM   #59
tension69
Registered Member
 
tension69's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen Photoshop
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nr Swindon Uk
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crook View Post
I like spherical for the soft shadows.
Me too, but not for animating with lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amras View Post

Would it be ok if I add stuff or remove some things mesh wise? Just little stuff. Or at least reduce some subdivision. Because I am having a hard time in my editor view.
Can you not hide geometry in C4D (?) that you're not working on as in Lightwave ? (We can select polys then press - to hide).

I'd be very surprised if you can't....
tension69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2017, 04:49 PM   #60
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amras View Post
I can tell you that.

But I think I am getting there. Already like it very much. But I have still a lot to fix.


Would it be ok if I add stuff or remove some things mesh wise? Just little stuff. Or at least reduce some subdivision. Because I am having a hard time in my editor view.

... And I just realized that the elevators are going right through the cobra bay arms... o0. I wonder why that happened at the import.
I would say mess with it all you want, as long as you limit redistribution afterwards.

And the cobra bays. I wonder if I rotated the layer 45 degrees in layout rather than modeller, which isn't picked up in a model conversion?
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Creative Works > Showcase
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 PM.


2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D