Old 26th May 2015, 05:21 AM   #1
Starbase1
Registered Member
 
Starbase1's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Modo Poser Terragen Vue Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 12,797
Default Daz Iradium

http://www.daz3d.com/05-26-iradium?

Daz now uses GPU rendering.

Not at all sure it will sstop me from exporting everything to render in Lightwave, but its a step in the right direction I think...
__________________
- - - - - -
My web site: http://nick-stevens.com/
Me on twitter, @runnymonkey, https://twitter.com/runnymonkey

Starbase1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2015, 11:25 PM   #2
overseer
Premiere Member
 
overseer's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce LightWave Vue Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northwestern Hemisphere, Sol-3.
Posts: 1,146
Default

Yeah, about time! Although I agree with you. I have yet to find a renderer, that provides me with a better look than Lightwave's. I guess Max with Vray's close, but I've never used Vray and Max only in a version from the dark ages. Lightwave just always felt like home to me.
__________________
[ Would you like to know more? ]
[ "Talent is a pursued interest. Anything that you're willing to practice, you can do." -- Bob Ross ]
overseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2015, 08:06 AM   #3
DigitalOrigami
Registered Member
 
DigitalOrigami's Avatar
 Gallery
Modo Photoshop
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The wilds of Canada
Posts: 1,752
Default

The couple of things I've tried have come out looking really nice. Don't have an NVidia card though, so it's very slow. That said, it takes me as long or longer to convert a scene to modo and render that way, so it's six of one, half dozen of another I guess.
DigitalOrigami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2015, 09:12 AM   #4
Starbase1
Registered Member
 
Starbase1's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Modo Poser Terragen Vue Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 12,797
Default

Personally I think that finding a way of getting halfway convincing hair should be top of their list... Even the best stuff tends to look like a bad wig.
Starbase1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2015, 06:56 AM   #5
SteveMoody
Contributing Member
 
SteveMoody's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Softimage XSI Vue Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 765
Default

If you want another renderer for Daz then i would suggest having a look at the Reality plugin which uses LuxRender. It's physically accurate so it's fairly slow rendering but it can produce some really nice results as well.
SteveMoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2015, 08:16 AM   #6
DigitalOrigami
Registered Member
 
DigitalOrigami's Avatar
 Gallery
Modo Photoshop
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The wilds of Canada
Posts: 1,752
Default

I've got both Reality and Luxus, the two LuxRender add-ons for Daz, and I have a hell of a time getting anything to look decent. Quite often the internal Daz render and some Photoshop give me better results. I just can't seem to get the hang of those two.

I think being able to light well is the trick to using all three successfully. Nearly everything I do seems to be flat and dark looking and I can't figure out the lighting well enough to get good believable results. I tend to end up with bad hotspots and still very dark areas. Come to think of it, a lot of my modo stuff looks that way too.
DigitalOrigami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Dec 2015, 07:57 AM   #7
Scatha
Registered Member
 Gallery
Poser Rhino ZBrush Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 165
Talking

I think I'm doing fairly well with the new Iray render engine in DS Iradium ... enough to completely retexture Defiant's bridge. Since I am not using an Nvidia card, rendering is a bit slow (16 hours for this one) on CPU, but it renders quite nicely.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Renegades3-resized.jpg
Views:	316
Size:	1.57 MB
ID:	80563  
Scatha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Dec 2015, 08:03 AM   #8
Scatha
Registered Member
 Gallery
Poser Rhino ZBrush Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 165
Default

As a sidenote, there's also an Octane render engine for DS, but that costs as much as a good Nvidia card (if not more).
Scatha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Dec 2015, 08:29 AM   #9
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,857
Default

No offense Scatha, but I don't think that image was worth waiting 16 hours. Which is why I've never been impressed with the stuff people have done with Poser and Daz over the years.
__________________
Those who say it can't be done,
should stop interrupting those of us who are busy doing it!

------------------------------------------------------------
Other Projects

The Universal Joint
Beechcraft 2000 airplane
LadyBug (Firefly class freighter)
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jan 2016, 12:50 PM   #10
Kojocci
Registered Member
 
Kojocci's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce LightWave Poser ZBrush Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland, Helsinki
Posts: 542
Default comment

People look 2 dimensional, like cut and paste with p-shop. There is missing some lights, wich give characters dimensons
__________________
Never is too late to learn something new.
Kojocci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jul 2016, 08:43 PM   #11
simpo
Registered Member
 Gallery
Blender Rhino Gimp Corel Paint Paint Shop Pro
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Default

I have tried the new Daz version.. the rendering is nice with Iray. However, the navigation and interface of this software is still too clumbersome. Just my opinion.
__________________
Blender 3D printing
simpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jul 2016, 03:51 AM   #12
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starbase1 View Post
http://www.daz3d.com/05-26-iradium?

Daz now uses GPU rendering.

Not at all sure it will sstop me from exporting everything to render in Lightwave, but its a step in the right direction I think...

I get a page 404 error????
__________________

"Remember The Vets who fought for our Freedom" ...
Intel I7 980 OC'D to 5.1 GHZ, Water Cooled, Gigabyte MB
132 gig ram, 5 HD's, TITAN Z Black , GTX 1080,
LightWave 11.6.3, 32 and 64 bit

http://boincstats.com/signature/-1/user/355618/sig.png
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Site & Community News
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 PM.


2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D