Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Site & Community News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th Sep 2008, 07:16 AM   #61
Kevin
Digital Modeler
 Gallery
LightWave Modo Motion Builder Photoshop Boujou After Effects Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LA
Posts: 135
Default

Ive been getting this issue with modeler since 9, it seems to pick and choose when it wants to act up like that as I can get that problem with anything as simple as box to a high poly model.
Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2008, 07:42 AM   #62
BillS
Administrator
 
BillS's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Illustrator Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10,856
Default

I did some searching on it and there was mention of a driver for a MS intelli mouse or something to do with an MS mouse. Mine is a logitech so I can't see that being it.
__________________
Bill. aka LemmingDude. aka Ethangar, Ethanger, Ethengar, Ethenger, Ethan, Eth, ehenger, etharger, Ethel, Ehtangar, Ethanfar, hanger, Eclangers, Ethand, ethang, hangar, Ethanol, Ethangix, Ethangod, Eggnog, Ethanprop........
Lemming World
BillS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2008, 09:16 AM   #63
Mr. Wilde
Contributing Member
 
Mr. Wilde's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Illustrator Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 524
Default

I have that problem, too. Quick zooming / moving / rotating "freezes" one or more viewports. The mesh is still there, but turns into some bizarre point cloud. It refreshes when I reselect the viewport in the dropdown menu.
__________________
Born to be WILDE!
Mr. Wilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2008, 07:15 PM   #64
Kevin
Digital Modeler
 Gallery
LightWave Modo Motion Builder Photoshop Boujou After Effects Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LA
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillS View Post
I did some searching on it and there was mention of a driver for a MS intelli mouse or something to do with an MS mouse. Mine is a logitech so I can't see that being it.

Mine is as well and I updated the logitech drivers just incase and it made no difference so I figure its just a glitch in LW.

And I have been haveing the same issues as you AW, as well as if I select say layer two and place layer one in the BG modeler slows to a crawl.

Makes modeling difficult to say the least.
Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Sep 2008, 01:42 PM   #65
Epiphany
Registered Member
 
Epiphany's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Modo Poser TrueSpace Corel Draw Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 3,272
Default

I have a logitech mouse and haven't had any problems like that

Has anyone used FiberFX yet ????
__________________
Blonde Moments = Bliss
Confussion is a wonderful state of mind
The Hokey Pokey Really is what its all about
When in doubt, Do It. Its much easier to apologize than to get permission.

I am excused from everything I don't want to do. I suffer from AMDD.....Dr. Bob said so
Epiphany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Sep 2008, 02:00 PM   #66
Bells of Freedom
Registered Member
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender Houdini LightWave Maya Modo Vue Gimp Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epiphany View Post
I have a logitech mouse and haven't had any problems like that

Has anyone used FiberFX yet ????
Same here. Logitech mouse. No issues as of yet. Haven't used FFX yet, but am going to take it for a spin soon!
__________________
...follow the calmness, the absence of pride.
Sutta Nipata

". . . the price of success is dedication, hard work, and an unremitting devotion to the things you want to see happen."
- Frank Lloyd Wright

Whatever "goes wrong" will teach us.
Bells of Freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Sep 2008, 07:50 PM   #67
BillS
Administrator
 
BillS's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Illustrator Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10,856
Default

Well... looks like I may be doing most of my modeling in 9.3 until this is fixed. Now that I know I'm not the only one.
BillS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Sep 2008, 07:57 PM   #68
mattc
Contributing Member
 Gallery
LightWave Modo Photoshop Digital Fusion
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 228
Default

This sort of thing is almost always a driver issue. Unless, of course, your hardware is toast.

You can always set your openGL back to 'legacy' through the display options. That may help also.


M.
mattc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2008, 02:45 PM   #69
rustythe1
Contributing Member
 
rustythe1's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen Vue Gimp Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: wiltshire, england
Posts: 1,433
Default

well i used to have an itelli point mouse but now a logitech, i will unistal the other mouse and see what that dose! but i dont think that will solve my 9.5 problem of black screen( thats the whole screen not just the view ports)
__________________
http://digitawn.co.uk

"At last, i have a website!"

Intel® Core™ i7 980X Extreme Edition Processor, (3.33GHz,12MB Cache) Asus P6X58D-E-USB3, 128GB MLC SSD SATA Solid State Drive, 1536MB NVIDIA Geforce GTX480 with CUDA Graphics Accelerator, G.Skill 12GB DDR3 1600MHz Memory (6x 2GB KIt), thermaltake level 10 case, windows 7 ultimate 64bit
rustythe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Oct 2008, 07:30 PM   #70
Oscaron
Contributing Member
 
Oscaron's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,283
Default

Hmmm that is some weird stuff going on.

If it's this common, I'm sure they'll patch it fast.

In the meantime, I offer you tech support as if LW was made by another company:

Microsoft - That's a feature, not a bug.
Adobe - That only happens on pirated versions of the software.
CIA - No. I'm afraid that problem doesn't exist. Hey! What's that behind you?! *CLUB*
__________________
...And then Buffy staked Edward.
The End.
Oscaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 10:38 AM   #71
psycoderek
Registered Member
 Gallery
Blender Bryce Poser Gimp Paint Shop Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Default

I had a good long look at lightwave when i visited the site. Then i had a good long look at the price for the software and fainted, after i fainted I did a double take and fainted again. I came round a few minutes later and looked again at the price, laughed and then fainted again. I know that developing software is an expensive business but come on, isn't it a little too much for poor hobbiests like me to pay out mega bucks for an application that you need a degree in astrophysics to work out and thats just to install the thing. I know that this is high end software but why do I need a second mortgage to buy it. It looks amazing but my wallet aint that big.
psycoderek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 10:42 AM   #73
Zippy
Contributing Member
 
Zippy's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Okanagan, BC, Canada
Posts: 692
Default

It's funny but Lightwave is one of the lower cost packages out there.
Zippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 12:21 PM   #74
Cougar12dk
Registered Member
 
Cougar12dk's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce LightWave Terragen Vue Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Breum, Denmark
Posts: 646
Default

And surely best for the money paid.
__________________
System specs: Windows 8.1 Professional 64bit, Core i7-3770K 3.5Ghz @ 4,21Ghz, 16GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600Mhz HyperX, EVGA GTX660 2GB GDDR5
Cougar12dk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 12:32 PM   #75
Kionel
Contributing Member
 
Kionel's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Maya Modo Vue Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psycoderek View Post
know that this is high end software but why do I need a second mortgage to buy it. It looks amazing but my wallet aint that big.
LightWave is a steal at its current price. Not only is it a fully-functional production package, but it also offers unlimited render nodes for the price of one license. That alone makes it an amazing value.

If price is an issue, I'd recommend working with Blender. It's a really cool package, and its price (free) can't be beat. (Honestly, had Blender been where it is now back in 2004, I suspect I would have went down that route instead of LightWave.)

As for learning the package, yes, it takes time. A lot of time. If you're willing to put in the effort to learn it using some of the amazing free resources out there, you'll be stunned at what you can do on your own desktop.

That's just my opinion, of course. YMMV.
__________________
--
"I drank what?"
-- Socrates
Kionel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 12:41 PM   #76
mlynch
Registered Member
 
mlynch's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Modo Vue Illustrator Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 326
Default

...so any word on when us Mac users will be seeing LW 9.5?
__________________
Box Full of Sky


Current WIPs:
Space:1999 Commlock
Space:1999 Stun Gun
mlynch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 12:45 PM   #77
jorjo
Registered Member
 
jorjo's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Motion Builder Poser Vue Photoshop Combustion Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psycoderek View Post
I had a good long look at lightwave when i visited the site. Then i had a good long look at the price for the software and fainted, after i fainted I did a double take and fainted again. I came round a few minutes later and looked again at the price, laughed and then fainted again. I know that developing software is an expensive business but come on, isn't it a little too much for poor hobbiests like me to pay out mega bucks for an application that you need a degree in astrophysics to work out and thats just to install the thing. I know that this is high end software but why do I need a second mortgage to buy it. It looks amazing but my wallet aint that big.
If your can't see it's worth every penny then you don't need it. If you think it's too expensive for a hobbyist, then it's a professional software that you can't afford to have as a hobby. If you think you need a degree in astrophysics to use it, then it's to complicated for you. So far all of the thinks you have pointed out are not Lightwave issues. What you have told us is, You can't afford a hobby that's to complex for you anyhow. On the other end of that spectrum, some of us are screaming for Newtek to add MORE complexity and function even if it means putting the prices up
__________________
I can Haz Signature ?
jorjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 02:25 PM   #78
mattc
Contributing Member
 Gallery
LightWave Modo Photoshop Digital Fusion
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlynch View Post
...so any word on when us Mac users will be seeing LW 9.5?
When it's done.

Seriously though, if you've got a mac, you should be in the open beta program.
mattc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 03:41 PM   #80
Oscaron
Contributing Member
 
Oscaron's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser Illustrator Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,283
Default

Noticed they are using KrakenCMT's frog to advertise the trial version.
Oscaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 05:44 PM   #81
CAClark
Registered Member
 
CAClark's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Modo Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Posts: 1,752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualkey08 View Post
the price of LIghtwave at 800 or so dollars is nothing commpared to the price of say Maya or 3DSMax. Both of which run from 4 grand and up..
But they are barely comparable though.
__________________
My Website
Twitter
Facebook
CAClark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 05:50 PM   #82
Mikala
Premiere Member
 
Mikala's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Softimage XSI Vue ZBrush Corel Draw Photoshop Combustion Digital Fusion
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: RMH Alberta
Posts: 8,283
Default

Depends what you are needing from the app Craig.
Love what you've done with your "look"
__________________
PM'S not the smartest place to make veiled threats or derogatory remarks....Just my opinion.
I'm a meatitarian. Ya I know...It's a personal choice. A way of life for me.
Mikala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2008, 06:25 AM   #83
Mook
Contributing Member
 
Mook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Mudbox Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 1,560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikala View Post
Depends what you are needing from the app Craig.
Love what you've done with your "look"
I bet he just used a marker pen to draw it on himself, then took a regular photo...
*Ducks and runs for the door*
__________________
Constructive Criticism Junkie

Current WIP:
Personal: P-47D Thunderbolt
Just completed:
Product Shot from Tutorial
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Site & Community News
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:27 AM.


©2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D