Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Techniques, Instruction > Texturing
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th Jun 2015, 07:35 AM   #1
tension69
Registered Member
 
tension69's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen Photoshop
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nr Swindon Uk
Posts: 640
Default Texturing multiple rotated objects

I'm building something big and have a 'nurnie' I've textured on all three sides using planar(x,y,z) and it looks right.

Problem starts when I clone this object and rotate it around the main object's surface, even after 1 copy at one degree of rotation the textures no longer align. Am I right in thinking I need to make a UV texture map for the object and then rotate it? Is this the only way to keep the textures aligned?

I'm not scared of doing a UV map even though I've not done it before, William Vaugn has a good tutorial for it in Lightwave on UTube I can follow.

Cheers.
__________________
SpacialKatana on YouTube
Lightwave2015.3 * i7-4770*Win7 64Bit * 2TB HDD * 16GB DDR3 * Asus GTX780 Ti OC
tension69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2015, 09:28 AM   #2
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tension69 View Post
I'm building something big and have a 'nurnie' I've textured on all three sides using planar(x,y,z) and it looks right.

Problem starts when I clone this object and rotate it around the main object's surface, even after 1 copy at one degree of rotation the textures no longer align. Am I right in thinking I need to make a UV texture map for the object and then rotate it? Is this the only way to keep the textures aligned?

I'm not scared of doing a UV map even though I've not done it before, William Vaugn has a good tutorial for it in Lightwave on UTube I can follow.

Cheers.
Yes, I get the same problem in C4D, because the Texture on the copy is fixed to the coordinates of the original object if you use such basic texture methods. (I hope that is plausible )
So you have to make an UVmap.
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2015, 11:22 AM   #3
tension69
Registered Member
 
tension69's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen Photoshop
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nr Swindon Uk
Posts: 640
Default

Yup, cheers Amras it makes sense, obviously UV 'pins' the image to the polys. Luckily my nurns are just boxes so I just have to make an Atlas UV map, nice, easy and no need to even exit Lightwave and fiddle in a paint program.

What's the best way to resize the image on the UV as the detail looks a bit stretched out on the polys. I've tried tiling it (double size and pixels in paint program) but it still looks no diffeernt.
__________________
SpacialKatana on YouTube
Lightwave2015.3 * i7-4770*Win7 64Bit * 2TB HDD * 16GB DDR3 * Asus GTX780 Ti OC
tension69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2015, 11:50 AM   #4
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,723
Default

The alternative is to put the nurnie in a separate file, then load it with the model and do the positioning and rotating in Layout. Layout will correctly rotate the textures. However, you'll need to keep the scene file as your basic model set up or do this every time you use it.

To avoid doing it in Layout, go with the UV.
__________________
Those who say it can't be done,
should stop interrupting those of us who are busy doing it!

------------------------------------------------------------
Other Projects

The Universal Joint
Beechcraft 2000 airplane
LadyBug (Firefly class freighter)
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2015, 03:40 PM   #5
tension69
Registered Member
 
tension69's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen Photoshop
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nr Swindon Uk
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigel View Post
The alternative is to put the nurnie in a separate file, then load it with the model and do the positioning and rotating in Layout. Layout will correctly rotate the textures. However, you'll need to keep the scene file as your basic model set up or do this every time you use it.

To avoid doing it in Layout, go with the UV.
I thought of the layout method, but I have hundreds of nurnies Rigel.. I'm building a Death Star

Good thing about dipping into modeller like this is that I'm getting experience with things I've shyed away from, rather than just animating and blowing other people's stuff up in layout

Thanks for the help/advice guys, I'm on my way now.
__________________
SpacialKatana on YouTube
Lightwave2015.3 * i7-4770*Win7 64Bit * 2TB HDD * 16GB DDR3 * Asus GTX780 Ti OC
tension69 is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Techniques, Instruction > Texturing
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 AM.


2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D