Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Creative Works > Works in Progress
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Works in Progress Critique works in progress, 2D 3D and animations

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th Aug 2017, 06:04 AM   #1
Starbase1
Registered Member
 
Starbase1's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Modo Poser Terragen Vue Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 12,649
Default Space - Lunokhod. (Again)

I had a couple of goes at a Lunokhod previously. First one abandoned, second one partly kitbash from a basic bought mesh, converted to the cosmonaut carrying version in a hurry for the N1 book.

I noticed a new an highly accurate looking one on Turbosquid, reasonably priced, and decided to see what I could do with it.

Unfortunately a few problems became clear fairly quickly.
  • I didn't notice the huge polygon count (1.6 million) before buying.
  • There are quite a few flipped polygons, and god knows how I can go through them all...
  • The texture images have been disconnected from the surfaces, (and the number of those is huge).
So it looks like another dumb brute force conversion has been done.

I can get around the flipped polygons by making things double sided, (even if that effectively doubles the huge polygon count).
And I'm going to complain about the texture image, and push for this to be fixed.

Shame as it's a lovely detailed model, and looks to be very highly accurate. Even more accurate than the physical one they shipped over to the London science museum last year, which is saying something! You can clearly see the small rolling wheel that tracks distance covered, and the soil resistance probe.

Anyway, here are a few renders with everything double sided and simple metal.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0566.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	411.8 KB
ID:	84347  Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0567.JPG
Views:	7
Size:	358.4 KB
ID:	84348  Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0568.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	245.1 KB
ID:	84349  Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0569.JPG
Views:	4
Size:	295.9 KB
ID:	84350  

__________________
- - - - - -
My web site: http://nick-stevens.com/
Me on twitter, @runnymonkey, https://twitter.com/runnymonkey

Starbase1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2017, 11:14 AM   #2
Tenement 01
Registered Member
 
Tenement 01's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 3,526
Default

It's a very interesting model. What will the intended textures be like? Pristine from the factory or with a bit of lunar grime and dust?
Tenement 01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2017, 12:10 PM   #3
Starbase1
Registered Member
 
Starbase1's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Modo Poser Terragen Vue Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 12,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenement 01 View Post
It's a very interesting model. What will the intended textures be like? Pristine from the factory or with a bit of lunar grime and dust?
I think clean. Maybe not polished clean, but not dusty!
__________________
- - - - - -
My web site: http://nick-stevens.com/
Me on twitter, @runnymonkey, https://twitter.com/runnymonkey

Starbase1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2017, 12:56 PM   #4
Treybor
Asylum Inmate
 
Treybor's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Poser ZBrush Photoshop Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 6,260
Default

Very neat.
__________________
Keep Flyin!
https://keepflying.com/
That Serenity Tutorial Guy.....
http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/s...ead.php?t=1281

SubPatch Modeling Tutorial (Nudity Warning)
http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/s...ead.php?t=3445
Treybor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2017, 01:27 PM   #5
Starbase1
Registered Member
 
Starbase1's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Modo Poser Terragen Vue Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 12,649
Default

If you get in close, he modelled the threads on the bolts!
Gulp...

Anyway, here are some cool edge renders I just did, while I'm waiting for tech support to sort out the proper surfaces.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lunokhod-line-ortho_rgb005x0.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	160.0 KB
ID:	84351  Click image for larger version

Name:	lunokhod-line-ortho_rgb0100x.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	132.2 KB
ID:	84352  Click image for larger version

Name:	lunokhod-line-ortho_rgb0150x.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	153.8 KB
ID:	84353  Click image for larger version

Name:	lunokhod-line-ortho_rgb0000x.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	130.4 KB
ID:	84354  

__________________
- - - - - -
My web site: http://nick-stevens.com/
Me on twitter, @runnymonkey, https://twitter.com/runnymonkey

Starbase1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2017, 07:58 AM   #6
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,503
Default

There is a command in Lightwave to orient the normals to the same facing. I can't think of where to find it off the top of my head. Use that on the model and all of the polygons will flip so they face the same way. Which may result in the model being inside out, but hit the 'f' key (if I remember correctly) to flip it back out.
__________________
Those who say it can't be done,
should stop interrupting those of us who are busy doing it!

------------------------------------------------------------
Other Projects

The Universal Joint
Beechcraft 2000 airplane
LadyBug (Firefly class freighter)
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2017, 08:05 AM   #7
Starbase1
Registered Member
 
Starbase1's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Modo Poser Terragen Vue Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 12,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigel View Post
There is a command in Lightwave to orient the normals to the same facing. I can't think of where to find it off the top of my head. Use that on the model and all of the polygons will flip so they face the same way. Which may result in the model being inside out, but hit the 'f' key (if I remember correctly) to flip it back out.
I know of that one (I think it's "align") - but this thing is in literally thousands of parts and layers.
__________________
- - - - - -
My web site: http://nick-stevens.com/
Me on twitter, @runnymonkey, https://twitter.com/runnymonkey

Starbase1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2017, 08:08 AM   #8
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starbase1 View Post
I know of that one (I think it's "align") - but this thing is in literally thousands of parts and layers.
As long as their all in one file, load it and all layers will be automatically selected. Then it's just a question of having the horsepower for the command to actually affect the entire 1.6 million polygons. I suspect you have that power.

I used to flip polygons by hand. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven when I discovered that command!

__________________
Those who say it can't be done,
should stop interrupting those of us who are busy doing it!

------------------------------------------------------------
Other Projects

The Universal Joint
Beechcraft 2000 airplane
LadyBug (Firefly class freighter)
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2017, 12:20 AM   #9
Starbase1
Registered Member
 
Starbase1's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Modo Poser Terragen Vue Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 12,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigel View Post
As long as their all in one file, load it and all layers will be automatically selected. Then it's just a question of having the horsepower for the command to actually affect the entire 1.6 million polygons. I suspect you have that power.

I used to flip polygons by hand. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven when I discovered that command!

Ah, that's not the issue. The issue I have found in the past is the each of the thousands of layers is handled independently, and each one may get it wrong.

Anywayy, I think turbosquid should not be selling meshes in this state.
__________________
- - - - - -
My web site: http://nick-stevens.com/
Me on twitter, @runnymonkey, https://twitter.com/runnymonkey

Starbase1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2017, 07:16 AM   #10
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,503
Default

I think that's incumbent upon the one who uploaded it.

"Tell me you didn't pay money for this!"
-- Raphael
__________________
Those who say it can't be done,
should stop interrupting those of us who are busy doing it!

------------------------------------------------------------
Other Projects

The Universal Joint
Beechcraft 2000 airplane
LadyBug (Firefly class freighter)
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2017, 01:43 PM   #11
Starbase1
Registered Member
 
Starbase1's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Modo Poser Terragen Vue Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 12,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigel View Post
I think that's incumbent upon the one who uploaded it.

"Tell me you didn't pay money for this!"
-- Raphael
Well, I have some sympathy - Turbosquid say they handle the conversion. I had one before where the modeller made heroic efforts to make it work for me, but was crippled by not having my software,. 3DMax seems to be the worst format...
__________________
- - - - - -
My web site: http://nick-stevens.com/
Me on twitter, @runnymonkey, https://twitter.com/runnymonkey

Starbase1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Aug 2017, 07:16 AM   #12
Starbase1
Registered Member
 
Starbase1's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Modo Poser Terragen Vue Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 12,649
Default

OK, starting to pick out textures, and also having a go at flipping polygons. Even if I end up using some double sided surfaces, I figure I can reduce it a lot, Hopefully enoiugh to replace the wheel sirface with a mesh insteaqd of transparency,,,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lunokhod-textured-test_rgb0000.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	130.4 KB
ID:	84381  Click image for larger version

Name:	lunokhod-textured-test_rgb0211.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	126.1 KB
ID:	84382  Click image for larger version

Name:	lunokhod-textured-test_rgb0378.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	119.9 KB
ID:	84383  Click image for larger version

Name:	lunokhod-textured-test_rgb0750.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	147.6 KB
ID:	84384  

__________________
- - - - - -
My web site: http://nick-stevens.com/
Me on twitter, @runnymonkey, https://twitter.com/runnymonkey

Starbase1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Creative Works > Works in Progress
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:46 AM.


2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D