Old 9th Aug 2011, 10:09 AM   #1
torturebori
Registered Member
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Illustrator Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 34
Default Head uv help please

So I have a model of a head and I have unwrapped it. How do I save that so that I can "try" to paint it in photoshop? Notice I "" try because this is all new to me, so I may come back for some help on that. Attached it the screenshot.

Thanks,

torturebori
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Head_unwrapped.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	210.4 KB
ID:	51058  
torturebori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2011, 10:18 AM   #2
BillS
Administrator
 
BillS's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Illustrator Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10,856
Default

What app are you using to model and UV? They all handle this differently
__________________
Bill. aka LemmingDude. aka Ethangar, Ethanger, Ethengar, Ethenger, Ethan, Eth, ehenger, etharger, Ethel, Ehtangar, Ethanfar, hanger, Eclangers, Ethand, ethang, hangar, Ethanol, Ethangix, Ethangod, Eggnog, Ethanprop........
Lemming World
BillS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2011, 10:27 AM   #3
torturebori
Registered Member
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Illustrator Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 34
Default

Sorry about that, I thought i clicked it. Im using lightwave 10, on a mac.
torturebori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2011, 10:43 AM   #4
BillS
Administrator
 
BillS's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Illustrator Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10,856
Default

Ok.. with the head layer active. Look on the lower right and click on the T. Right beside it is a drop down. What you called your UVs will be listed in there. Select it.
Now in the file menu export eps. A requester will popup. change it from all views to UV's and make sure that you have draw grid checked. Save it. The EPS will load right into photoshop. I normally take it into illustrator first and clean up any stray lines etc and save it as an .ai. When you load an .ai in PS it will ask you what size to render it to. I'm not sure if the .eps import will do that since I don't go that way.

It might not be exactly as I wrote it in the menu's and requesters since I'm doing it from memory. It should get you moving the right direction though.
__________________
Bill. aka LemmingDude. aka Ethangar, Ethanger, Ethengar, Ethenger, Ethan, Eth, ehenger, etharger, Ethel, Ehtangar, Ethanfar, hanger, Eclangers, Ethand, ethang, hangar, Ethanol, Ethangix, Ethangod, Eggnog, Ethanprop........
Lemming World
BillS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2011, 10:51 AM   #5
torturebori
Registered Member
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Illustrator Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 34
Default

Awesome that did it.

Quick question Bill. Now in Illustrator it says its 6x6 (inches) Is that ok or do I need to resize that so that when I paint my texture it fits my model.

Again thanks
torturebori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2011, 01:24 PM   #6
BillS
Administrator
 
BillS's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Illustrator Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10,856
Default

That's fine. As long as it stays square res. That is why I always check to export the UV grid. That forces it to stay square. I will normally scale it by the corners if it doesn't fit the full page but I'm not sure that its necessary. I just always do. Hold shift and drag a corner will keep it constrained to a square scale and it will snap to the borders. Save the .ai and fire up PS.
__________________
Bill. aka LemmingDude. aka Ethangar, Ethanger, Ethengar, Ethenger, Ethan, Eth, ehenger, etharger, Ethel, Ehtangar, Ethanfar, hanger, Eclangers, Ethand, ethang, hangar, Ethanol, Ethangix, Ethangod, Eggnog, Ethanprop........
Lemming World
BillS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2011, 04:57 PM   #7
torturebori
Registered Member
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Illustrator Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 34
Default

sweet thanks Bills
torturebori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2011, 05:05 PM   #8
BillS
Administrator
 
BillS's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Maya Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Illustrator Corel Paint Photoshop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10,856
Default

Not a problem. Glad to help.
__________________
Bill. aka LemmingDude. aka Ethangar, Ethanger, Ethengar, Ethenger, Ethan, Eth, ehenger, etharger, Ethel, Ehtangar, Ethanfar, hanger, Eclangers, Ethand, ethang, hangar, Ethanol, Ethangix, Ethangod, Eggnog, Ethanprop........
Lemming World
BillS is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Techniques, Instruction > Texturing
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 PM.


2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D