Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Creative Works > Showcase
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Showcase All finalized work, 2D, 3D, and animations

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31st Mar 2013, 10:20 AM   #31
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Cheers Rige. There's a lot of noise on the focus blur, but that's because I set it to a really low number of samples (for Octane) to make it quick.

And yes, got this model out of moth balls to try some Octane surfacing. Looking for a good, caterpillar base coat. Will use this to think about UVing and grunged up textures. A couple of stills and a 720P Youtube link.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Octane2.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	997.2 KB
ID:	64851
Click image for larger version

Name:	Octane1.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	965.4 KB
ID:	64852

Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2013, 10:35 AM   #32
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

nulls for focus???

oh u used the Standalone right..

Nice render.. and animation..
__________________

"Remember The Vets who fought for our Freedom" ...
Intel I7 980 OC'D to 5.1 GHZ, Water Cooled, Gigabyte MB
132 gig ram, 5 HD's, TITAN Z Black , GTX 1080,
LightWave 11.6.3, 32 and 64 bit

http://boincstats.com/signature/-1/user/355618/sig.png
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2013, 10:42 AM   #33
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D_CG View Post
nulls for focus???

oh u used the Standalone right..

Nice render.. and animation..
Nope, all LW. In the Render Target set up. There's an input for Focal Depth. Create a null in the scene. Use the Item Info set to that null and another set to the camera. Put there position outputs into a Math, Vector, Distance Node which in turn inputs to Focal Depth. Move the null to where you want the focus distance to be. Use aperture to set depth of field (higher is smaller DoF). Animate the nil to animate the focus.

Edit.... The Focal Depth inputis in the Camera: Thin Lens Node
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2013, 11:43 AM   #34
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

And now, same thing but messing with Emissions nodes.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OctaneLights.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	330.8 KB
ID:	64853  
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2013, 07:10 PM   #35
Omnipotent
Registered Member
 
Omnipotent's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max LightWave Modo Vue ZBrush Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,840
Default

i like that last pic!
__________________
"Do onto others before they do onto you"
Omnipotent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2013, 07:49 PM   #36
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,863
Default

Hey Gordon;

I once uploaded some photos of a Caterpillar excavator. You can find them here. May not be the paint job you're looking for but they are a good reference for the tracks and how the working parts get scratched up.
__________________
Those who say it can't be done,
should stop interrupting those of us who are busy doing it!

------------------------------------------------------------
Other Projects

The Universal Joint
Beechcraft 2000 airplane
LadyBug (Firefly class freighter)
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Apr 2013, 01:43 AM   #37
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnipotent View Post
i like that last pic!
Thanks, me too. Especially the way the light plays on the grill above the front scoop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigel View Post
Hey Gordon;

I once uploaded some photos of a Caterpillar excavator. You can find them here. May not be the paint job you're looking for but they are a good reference for the tracks and how the working parts get scratched up.
Thanks mate. Yeh, need to find and collect lots of references. Have to do some alterations to the model and tackle UVing it first.
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2013, 12:32 PM   #38
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Robb View Post
Nope, all LW. In the Render Target set up. There's an input for Focal Depth. Create a null in the scene. Use the Item Info set to that null and another set to the camera. Put there position outputs into a Math, Vector, Distance Node which in turn inputs to Focal Depth. Move the null to where you want the focus distance to be. Use aperture to set depth of field (higher is smaller DoF). Animate the nil to animate the focus.

Edit.... The Focal Depth inputis in the Camera: Thin Lens Node
can u post a screen shot... please...
Me totally confused.... thanks



Mike
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2013, 01:10 PM   #39
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Sure.

The first 'item info' is assigned to the camera, the second is assigned to the null. I also have the camera targeting the null, although I think it would be better to have a target null and a focus target null separately so that I can focus on something that is not in the centre of frame.

I've also shown my Octane Camera settings. You need to make sure 'autofocus' is disabled.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenClip.png
Views:	123
Size:	711.0 KB
ID:	64906  
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2013, 01:46 PM   #40
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Hehe, found an interesting technique when I plugged a node into the wrong input (Near Clip Depth), then set it up to animate using the same technique as for focus.

Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2013, 02:09 PM   #41
DELTA
Registered Member
 
DELTA's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender Bryce LightWave Mudbox Photoshop Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Remember those who gave all for your freedoms.
Posts: 4,108
Default

lol
__________________
Star Trek was a big piece of my childhood... Spock got me interested in the sciences, Scotty got me interested in engineering, and Bones got me interested in healing...Oh, and Kirk got me interested in leadership and Green women...
DELTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2013, 02:13 PM   #42
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

Thank You

3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2013, 02:21 PM   #43
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Robb View Post
Hehe, found an interesting technique when I plugged a node into the wrong input (Near Clip Depth), then set it up to animate using the same technique as for focus.

How did u do that exactly???

Sorry i just thought that was so cool, i have to ask, how again..

sorry me learning the stuff..
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2013, 02:54 PM   #44
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Same set up basically with the null, and item info notes, this time, output the distance to the Near Clip Distance input of the camera. Now it will clip the mesh where ever you place the null. I just animated the null. Simples Looks cool though.
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2013, 02:55 PM   #45
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

ya it did
Thanks


what video cards u running??
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Apr 2013, 07:04 AM   #46
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,863
Default

Wow, Gordon, that's the fastest build video I've ever seen! It's a very cool effect.
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2013, 07:14 AM   #47
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Messing about with lighting, kernels and post-effects.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Shuttle.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	582.8 KB
ID:	65114  
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2013, 08:28 AM   #48
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,863
Default

I like the streaks of sunlight across the shuttle. The d.o.f. makes it look like a miniature shot.
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2013, 11:49 AM   #49
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Cheers Rigel. After much wailing and gnashing of teeth, and much help from folks over at the Octane forum, I'm got a skin shader I'm happy with.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Skin6.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	245.2 KB
ID:	65152  
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2013, 12:34 PM   #50
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

And with different model, textures and lighting.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Skin7.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	235.4 KB
ID:	65154  
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2013, 01:19 PM   #51
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,863
Default

The first one looks like Vin Diesel.

That shader looks nice, especially the ears.
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2013, 01:46 PM   #52
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Cheers, I should state that neither of these models and associated textures are mine. They were both downloaded. All I've done is built the shader in Octane for LW. Will definitely be trying it out on a model of my own though at some point.
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2013, 03:45 AM   #53
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Trying a slightly different node set up using a specular, instead of glossy, material with the diffuse. Easier to control the SSS I think.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Skin8.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	272.0 KB
ID:	65198  Click image for larger version

Name:	Skin9.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	250.2 KB
ID:	65199  
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2013, 07:23 AM   #54
bmckain
Wire Junkie
 
bmckain's Avatar
 Gallery
Bryce LightWave Poser Vue Photoshop
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise, ID. USA
Posts: 18,352
Default

Wow, that's looking really good.
__________________
The one thing you need to get past is simply the way you think. - William Vaughan
My Photography / My 3D Work
bmckain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2013, 05:37 PM   #55
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D_CG View Post
ya it did
Thanks


what video cards u running??
Just realised you asked this. I've only got one, but it's a GTX 680. Standalone is a lot better now, as it allows for a little of the card to be used for the UI, hopefully that will come to the plugin. It may be some time before I add another card (system only has room for on more). It'll be another 680 methinks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmckain View Post
Wow, that's looking really good.
cheers Bob.
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2013, 09:06 AM   #56
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

That does look awesome, The head looks so real now... wow


me thinking to upgrade video cards also..
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2013, 10:12 AM   #57
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Cheers. I thought you had 3 cards. No?
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2013, 10:18 AM   #58
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

I have not put them in yet....

I have to do some modifications, the pins and plugs on the mother board at the bottom are in the way of the third card, ordered some small heat-shrink tubing so i can replace the connectors with single wires, the USB and a couple other connectors are in the way, i need another 1/8 th inch of space.. so doing away with the connectors with single wire and pins will give me the clearance,
dang it any ways, i want the third card...


but soon...
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2013, 11:50 AM   #59
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Just get an expansion box and 4 titans
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2013, 01:01 PM   #60
3D_CG
Contributing Member
 
3D_CG's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Blender LightWave Terragen ZBrush Gimp Paint Shop Pro Photoshop Digital Fusion Premiere
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane Washington, North Side in a quiet neighbor hood, Tell I start My Harley, Then its NOISY...
Posts: 4,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Robb View Post
Just get an expansion box and 4 titans
how do those work???
3D_CG is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Creative Works > Showcase
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 AM.


2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D