Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Discussions & Support > The Cafe
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

The Cafe IMP, LLC, owners of this site, is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules and use good internet etiquette (link). Discuss topics of your choice in the Cafe only, with the exception of sex or topics deemed inappropriate for family consumption. Discussions of politics and religion are discouraged due to their volatile nature; however, each thread will be judged individually for content (religion and politics) and will not be shut down immediately. Staff retains the right to close or delete any post which they deem inappropriate. Threads or posts that advocate violence or hate, advance spam, or violate our TOS will be deleted or closed.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th Jan 2015, 10:41 AM   #61
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biotech View Post
There are two modes, open and solo, if you chose solo you will never encounter another real player, and there are no downsides to doing so, should you wish to go into open, you are only a save away.

You are always in the same part of the universe no matter which mode you play.

This can also come in handy if you are playing in open and someone is hogging all the pads on a station, just save, and load back into solo, suddenly that station is empty.
You can also play in a private group, just with friends.
And today everyone is online the whole time anyway. So I don't see a problem. ^^
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2015, 10:53 AM   #62
John Marchant
Registered Member
 
John Marchant's Avatar
 Gallery
Blender LightWave Terragen Vue Photoshop Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Almeria, Spain
Posts: 2,284
Default

Yeah and i mostly play in the third type Private, far more enjoyable. Problem is in some places many are complaining that everyone should be in open mode, because they think that this game is called Call of Duty Elite, which is why many prefer closed groups.
John Marchant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2015, 06:24 PM   #63
Jedi2016
Registered Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,397
Default

No need to listen to those folks. I'm playing Solo, it's fine.
__________________
On the Soap Box - My online ranting spot
Jedi2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jan 2015, 04:46 PM   #64
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,594
Default

What ship do you guys already have?
I am working on the ASP... I have half the money now.
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jan 2015, 05:39 PM   #65
Jedi2016
Registered Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,397
Default

I have a Cobra and a Type-6. I'm using the Type-6 to grind money right now towards an Asp. I have about half the purchase price of the Asp, but I'll need another 10M or so to get it even remotely near where I want it in terms of upgrades.
__________________
On the Soap Box - My online ranting spot
Jedi2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2015, 01:05 AM   #66
biotech
Moderator
 
biotech's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Bryce Poser Terragen Vue Corel Paint Paint Shop Pro
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hull, Yorkshire, England
Posts: 2,073
Default

Got a type 6 grinding money towards getting a cobra maxed out for fighting, once I have that I will keep the type 6 until I can afford a type 7.

I would have already had the cobra if you could swap to another ship while you still had cargo.
biotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2015, 01:56 AM   #67
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi2016 View Post
I have a Cobra and a Type-6. I'm using the Type-6 to grind money right now towards an Asp. I have about half the purchase price of the Asp, but I'll need another 10M or so to get it even remotely near where I want it in terms of upgrades.
Exactly what what I have.^^
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2015, 03:54 AM   #68
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,636
Default

Not done any trading at the moment, I'm in a cobra picking up bounties and targets in warzones. I think I'll have to start trading soon in order to gain credits for larger ships. Combat doesn't pay enough.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2015, 02:24 AM   #69
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crook View Post
Not done any trading at the moment, I'm in a cobra picking up bounties and targets in warzones. I think I'll have to start trading soon in order to gain credits for larger ships. Combat doesn't pay enough.
Exactly. I did bounty-hunting first too. But a friend told me then a trade route.
So know I am flying back and forth between two stations and make 200k in 15 minutes. A bit boring, but the only way to get the money for the asp.^^
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2015, 02:41 AM   #70
biotech
Moderator
 
biotech's Avatar
 Gallery
3DS Max Bryce Poser Terragen Vue Corel Paint Paint Shop Pro
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hull, Yorkshire, England
Posts: 2,073
Default

There is a circuit you can do of the rares planets that will get you almost 2 million for each circuit, will take you a couple of hours though.
biotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2015, 03:23 AM   #71
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

From my recollection of the old Spectrum game. Battling and the rest was fun, but trade was where the real money was.
__________________
Windows 8 Pro | i7 3770 OC | 32 GB Ram | Nvidia Titan x 2 (one Black) | Octane Lightwave V2
Youtube Channel for Sketches
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2015, 05:53 AM   #72
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amras View Post
Exactly. I did bounty-hunting first too. But a friend told me then a trade route.
So know I am flying back and forth between two stations and make 200k in 15 minutes. A bit boring, but the only way to get the money for the asp.^^
200k in 15 mins seems like a good deal. What's the tonnage and initial outlay for that?
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2015, 04:43 PM   #73
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,636
Default

Found my place in the Universe....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_0143.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	328.4 KB
ID:	76884  Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_0149.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	478.3 KB
ID:	76885  
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2015, 05:56 PM   #74
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 22,863
Default

Sweet!
__________________
Those who say it can't be done,
should stop interrupting those of us who are busy doing it!

------------------------------------------------------------
Other Projects

The Universal Joint
Beechcraft 2000 airplane
LadyBug (Firefly class freighter)
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2015, 03:37 AM   #75
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Cool
__________________
Windows 8 Pro | i7 3770 OC | 32 GB Ram | Nvidia Titan x 2 (one Black) | Octane Lightwave V2
Youtube Channel for Sketches
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2015, 10:30 AM   #76
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crook View Post
200k in 15 mins seems like a good deal. What's the tonnage and initial outlay for that?
Take Superconductors from Coriccha (Schirra Dock) to Wolf562 (Hopkins Port) and take back Advanced Catalysers. You need 100cargo to get that much.
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2015, 11:17 AM   #77
Jedi2016
Registered Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,397
Default

You guys know about Thrudd's trading tool, right? Easy way to find trades in your area, and it'll tell you where to take them to get the best profit, as well as the return trip.

Trading is very profitable, especially once you get a bigger ship (I have a Type-6, so that's 100T of cargo). But make no mistake.. it's boring as hell.. lol. I took a break last night and did some bounty hunting (that's why I kept my Cobra), made about a quarter million in about an hour. Not as profitable, but a lot more fun.

Oh, and quick tip.. when you're in a dogfight and a larger ship tries to ram you.. get the hell out of its way. I got interdicted by an Imperial Clipper last night, and I probably could have taken him until he ran into me. Shields gone and down to 7% hull in an instant. And I hadn't turned in my bounties yet! I managed to bug out and make it back to the dock, but that one was close.
__________________
On the Soap Box - My online ranting spot
Jedi2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2015, 03:47 PM   #78
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,636
Default

I was flying in my Cobra under the insurance limit yesterday That was hairy!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amras View Post
Take Superconductors from Coriccha (Schirra Dock) to Wolf562 (Hopkins Port) and take back Advanced Catalysers. You need 100cargo to get that much.
Seems easy enough. I might have a pop at that to start me off trading.
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2015, 07:18 PM   #79
Jedi2016
Registered Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,397
Default

Hairy was yesterday when I was in my "runner", a stripped-down Viper I use to jet between my other ships in different systems. I was in a hurry for no apparent reason and boosted out of a station (the Viper hits about 420+ in boost, pretty damn fast). As I neared the exit, I realized I was coming in a little too low and I might hit the station and OMG this ship has no shields. I would have been a bug on a windshield.. lol (but I made it).
__________________
On the Soap Box - My online ranting spot
Jedi2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2015, 01:39 AM   #80
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi2016 View Post
Hairy was yesterday when I was in my "runner", a stripped-down Viper I use to jet between my other ships in different systems. I was in a hurry for no apparent reason and boosted out of a station (the Viper hits about 420+ in boost, pretty damn fast). As I neared the exit, I realized I was coming in a little too low and I might hit the station and OMG this ship has no shields. I would have been a bug on a windshield.. lol (but I made it).
Even with the shield you can end like that. Trust me.
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Mar 2015, 05:55 PM   #81
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,636
Default

I just made the hop to Vulcan to try out the new camera. Here is my cobra outside Leonard Nimoy station, with Vulcan in the background.

The station is quite nice inside, one of the better stations (as you'd expect).

Looks like Elite is getting better with every update. Wings looks good so far, but not settled enough in the Universe yet to have a stable set of people to team up with.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_0168.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	770.7 KB
ID:	77406  Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_0164.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	525.9 KB
ID:	77407  
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Mar 2015, 06:24 PM   #82
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

I just heard that this is coming to Xbox One. Oh no. That might remove my main reason for not getting it
__________________
Windows 8 Pro | i7 3770 OC | 32 GB Ram | Nvidia Titan x 2 (one Black) | Octane Lightwave V2
Youtube Channel for Sketches
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Mar 2015, 09:09 PM   #83
Jedi2016
Registered Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,397
Default

Well, I could bring up the argument that the console version won't quite be up to snuff with the PC version. Especially once you add a HOTAS and headtracking, both are gamechangers, and together are sublime.

Only played around with the new update for a few minutes just to get some screenshots with the new camera.
__________________
On the Soap Box - My online ranting spot
Jedi2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2015, 01:44 AM   #84
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,594
Default

The new Wing functions do work quite nice.
My friend and me (ASP on the right)
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2015, 04:08 AM   #85
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi2016 View Post
Well, I could bring up the argument that the console version won't quite be up to snuff with the PC version. Especially once you add a HOTAS and headtracking, both are gamechangers, and together are sublime.

Only played around with the new update for a few minutes just to get some screenshots with the new camera.
What's HOTAS and headtracking?

They are saying that their objective is to have the console version as good. I think that's one of the reason their only talking about XBox One and PS4.
__________________
Windows 8 Pro | i7 3770 OC | 32 GB Ram | Nvidia Titan x 2 (one Black) | Octane Lightwave V2
Youtube Channel for Sketches
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2015, 04:34 AM   #86
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,636
Default

Hands On Throttle And Stick - proper flight sim joystick and throttle control, and headtracking - with a few led's and a webcam you can look around your cockpit by moving your head. It's quite useful for activating the in game menus, for example looking down and left brings up the navigation window. Not to mention that in a fight you can look around your cockpit window to track targets.

You kind of forget there is a monitor there, and use your head as an additional controller. Makes you feel more like you are there without having an oculus rift. Once there is a decent VR headset to be had where you can read text, the game will be amazing with HOTAS.

You can also use voiceattack for a lot of control, which is also superb. Talking to your ship is just brilliant, and required for VR as you'll never see the keyboard.

I'm surprised there isn't another class of headtracking - one where the perpective changes depending on orientation, making your monitor into a 'window'. Been waiting for that for years ever since I saw this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jd3-eiid-Uw
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2015, 05:09 AM   #87
Gordon Robb
Contributing Member
 
Gordon Robb's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave ZBrush Corel Paint Photoshop After Effects Premiere
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,310
Default

Ah, the throuttle and stick difference will, I'm sure, be down to taste. They will obvioulsy need to do some work to develop an interface. Although they did say in one of the discussions that a lot of their users already use game controllers connected to their PCs.

Regarding head tracking, Xbox One does that, not sure about PS4. I used it in Alien Isolation untill I realised my movements when I was hiding, could be heard by the Alien
__________________
Windows 8 Pro | i7 3770 OC | 32 GB Ram | Nvidia Titan x 2 (one Black) | Octane Lightwave V2
Youtube Channel for Sketches
Gordon Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2015, 06:55 PM   #88
Jedi2016
Registered Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amras View Post
The new Wing functions do work quite nice.
My friend and me (ASP on the right)
How'd you get the camera so far away? Mine seems to hit a wall about 30m or so from the Asp, where it still takes up a good chunk of the screen.
__________________
On the Soap Box - My online ranting spot
Jedi2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Mar 2015, 03:40 AM   #89
Amras
Contributing Member
 
Amras's Avatar
 Gallery
Cinema 4D Photoshop
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany (NRW)
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi2016 View Post
How'd you get the camera so far away? Mine seems to hit a wall about 30m or so from the Asp, where it still takes up a good chunk of the screen.
The picture was taken by my friend in the Lakon Type-7 transporter.

I think they could improve that camera a lot. It is moving soooo slow...
__________________
Portfolio: DA-portfolio
My B5 models: googledocs
My garden diary: Hossenhof
Elite Dangerous: Inara
Amras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Mar 2015, 05:07 AM   #90
Crook
Contributing Member
 
Crook's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Terragen ZBrush Photoshop After Effects
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,636
Default

I just lost my ship in a conflict zone, and then again to a stupid mistake with a python bounty to try to recoup some money.

I'm down to 1000 cr in my cobra, and not happy. At least now bounty hunting can produce some viable income, and I think I need to concentrate on slowly making money in my next outing.

How does anyone survive a conflict zone? There are so many targets flying around something eventually gets you. Maybe it's the cobra, and I need to build up to a better fighter before wading in, but the Fer De Lance is a lifetime away
Crook is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Discussions & Support > The Cafe
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 AM.


2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D