Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Techniques, Instruction > 3D
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

3D Tutorials and your questions on your particular 3D application. Or post questions for general 3D help.

Reply
 
Submit Tools Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th Apr 2009, 03:06 AM   #1
Pete Paterson
Registered Member
 
Pete Paterson's Avatar
 Gallery
Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Photoshop Digital Fusion
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 339
Default LightWave - LW Image sequence import

In the compositing tab in Lightwave, I can see clearly how to import a background image. However, how do I import a sequence of images here? I know it can be done, I'm just a bit stumped about how to.

The online help says I can, but does not show how to. In QT for example there is the option that clearly says import image sequence, perhaps I am missing something real simple?

Cheers
__________________
What will it take to get this done?
Pete Paterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2009, 04:11 AM   #2
Rigel
Moderator
 
Rigel's Avatar
 Gallery
LightWave Photoshop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London (the other one, in Canada)
Posts: 20,170
Default

Hi Pete;

While you have the Image Editor open, after you load the first image, look down a little further and you'll find a menu which says Image or Single Image; change that to sequence.

Image Editor will then fill in the info about how many frames it finds (based on the file numbers). You can use the In and Out sliders to set where the image sequence will render. Note, if it defaults to in at 0, frame 1 will render the second image in the sequence.

For more information, go into the Animation 101 thread and read through Lesson Two - Frame Assembly.
__________________
Those who say it can't be done,
should stop interrupting those of us who are busy doing it!

------------------------------------------------------------
Other Projects

The Universal Joint
Beechcraft 2000 airplane
LadyBug (Firefly class freighter)
Rigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2009, 04:34 AM   #3
Pete Paterson
Registered Member
 
Pete Paterson's Avatar
 Gallery
Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Photoshop Digital Fusion
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 339
Default

Hi Rigel

Thanks for your help, and for the link to the tutorials, forgot about these.
__________________
What will it take to get this done?
Pete Paterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2009, 05:03 AM   #4
Jon D
Banned
 Gallery
3DS Max
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 956
Default

just remember image sequences mess up on frame 0, so make sure your animation starts from frame 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigel View Post
Note, if it defaults to in at 0, frame 1 will render the second image in the sequence.
no it'll render the first image on 0 and then repeat it on 1 and start there, even if you set the image start to be negaitve frames, the squence will be frozen before 1 and then start on the frame you expect it to

stupid I know, but there's areas of lightwave that just get forgotten when it comes to development
Jon D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2009, 06:02 AM   #5
Pete Paterson
Registered Member
 
Pete Paterson's Avatar
 Gallery
Modo Softimage XSI ZBrush Photoshop Digital Fusion
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 339
Default

Thanks for the clarification.
__________________
What will it take to get this done?
Pete Paterson is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Foundation 3D Forums > Techniques, Instruction > 3D
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:04 PM.


2006 - 2013 Foundation 3D